Math Problem

I always hated word problems, but I don’t know a better way to present this.

Winter is coming (cue Ned Stark) but pitchers don’t stop throwing. For many in colder climates they head inside. The downside is that long toss is seldom possible in smaller venues. I think that’s solvable.

So let’s take a situation where we have a known distance, a wall, and two unknown variables. Can anyone solve this, or come up with a better solution to the issue?

Let’s say that we have 50 feet of space. The wall is 20 feet high. How high up the wall would you have to hit to be throwing 180 feet? 200? And would you have to know the speed to make the calculation work?

Put your best solutions on twitter. @injuryexpert

 
13
Kudos
 
13
Kudos

Now read this

What I Saw

I had an interesting conversation with a friend today. He’s also one of the best writers around. At this time of year, there’s more than baseball players who are on the market and he asked me whether I liked being at Bleacher Report.... Continue →